Creating an Ad Campaign & Keywords

This week, I started really thinking about my ad campaign. I thought about my audience, specifically their location, language, gender, and other demographics. I also wanted to think about whether they would be viewing my site on a desktop or their phone.

I decided to plan for an audience within the United States because it will be much easier to ship within the United States based on my payment method. As well, I’ve found that people are usually more likely to make purchases on desktops, however, there is more traffic on mobile. I would prefer to have ads on both, but I think the conversion rate will be higher with desktops, so I’ll stick with that.

There’s also the issue of budgeting and automatic vs manual bidding options when it comes to keywords. I’m watching my finances closely, so I’m trying to be as frugal as possible. My budget is going to end up being $100 because of a deal I was able to get. Also, as far as bidding options, it sounds like manual bidding gives a lot more control to the user. I would be able to customize my bidding exactly how I want it. However, I chose to go with automatic bidding. Because I’m not very comfortable with this yet, it seems that automatic bidding will be the best choice. It will bring me the most clicks possible within my budget. This takes the guesswork out of bidding, which I prefer. I can always switch over to manual once I learn more, as well.

 

What makes a good keyword?

I also thought about what kind of keywords I could use in this ad campaign. So what makes a good keyword?

Good keywords are specific. Using general keywords can attract the wrong people that won’t purchase your products. I think another aspect of a good keyword is knowing what your audience is looking for. For example, if I was looking to buy stickers, I would probably type in something like, “cheap laptop stickers.” If the keyword for your site was just “stickers,” it most likely wouldn’t show up on the first page. So I guess my tip is to get into the mind of the buyer. What are they looking for? Maybe you could trick your brain into deciding you need a certain product and seeing what you typed into Google. I usually can’t trick my brain, but sometimes my fingers fly faster than my brain.

A bad keyword is general and easily confused with other topics. For example, if you sell camping equipment and use the keyword camping, people who might be looking for national parks or campgrounds will see it. They won’t turn into a buyer, and the keyword will be pointless.

Based on these criteria, I came up with over 20 keywords I am considering using (depending on price and budget).

Leave a Reply

