Portrait Enhancements

Process

Portraits are probably my favorite pictures to take. I wanted to take pictures of more than headshots (my usual pose) and challenge myself. Being a millennial, Pinterest was one of the first places I went for ideas. I browsed for ideas of different poses. After gathering up a few of my friends, taking about 400 pictures, and convincing my coworkers to let me photograph them, I got the shots I wanted. The edits were all made in Photoshop, and I listed them below each portrait.

 

Side Composition

Before

After

Edits: frequency separation for skin smoothing, contrast

Edits: contrast, exposure, vibrance

 

Headshot

Edits: contrast, vibrance

Edits: hair color, contrast, exposure

 

Before

After

Edits: frequency separation for skin smoothing, contrast, exposure, blur

Full Body

Before

After

Edits: vibrance, contrast, exposure, pant color (red to blue)

Edits: contrast, vibrance, exposure

 

Candid Group

Edits: contrast, vibrance, exposure

Edits: vibrance, contrast, exposure

 

Posed group

Edits: vibrance, contrast, exposure

Edits: vibrance, contrast, exposure

Environmental

Edits: vibrance, contrast

 

Before

After

Edits: vibrance, contrast, exposure, wall color (from bright teal to blue gray)

 

 

2 thoughts on “Portrait Enhancements

Leave a Reply

