Digital Imaging – The Beginning

Hello! I’m Annah Despain, and I’m a visual communication major at Brigham Young University-Idaho. I’m from Chicago, however, I grew up in Minnesota, just outside of Minneapolis. Despite the bitter cold, I love the weather there. There’s something magical about Minnesota, and if you ever have the chance to visit in the fall, take it.

I also love hiking and anything outdoors. This might be why I love Minnesota so much. Hiking, backpacking, camping, and even reading a good book in my hammock are my ideal ways of spending a lazy afternoon. I also love building my blog where I write a little about the outdoors.

I love all things communication, but especially illustration and design. I’m proficient with Adobe Illustrator and I have produced some work using Adobe InDesign as well, however, Adobe Photoshop is a completely different ballgame. The only time I’ve ever touched Photoshop was in a beginning visual media class and a little when I borrowed my dad’s camera for a few hours. I’ve never done much with photography, but with a few months of focus, I hope to become much more comfortable with photography and editing.

To measure my progress over this journey, I’ve included some pictures I have taken before. Hopefully, seeing where I came from will inspire me and you when I get to where I want to be.

This photo didn’t require many edits. When shooting, I adjusted the focus using my camera settings. In Photoshop, I pulled out the magenta in the photo. I also adjusted the saturation.

As you can see, I’ve got a long way to go. As far as composition goes, I have some basics. The thing I’m most looking forward to improving is my knowledge of editing and my own camera. Honestly, even things like shutter speed go over my head. I’m excited for the journey.

Leave a Reply

