Making a T-Shirt

I decided to work on creating print media rather than only digital images. Because of this, I thought a t-shirt print would be a great introduction to this. As I began, I noticed that there aren’t very many creative prints for my favorite TV show, Stargate: Atlantis. There was a need, and I wanted to produce a t-shirt. I knew my theme would be Stargate: Atlantis.

As I began to brainstorm, I looked on forums, Pinterest, and used this as an excuse to watch more episodes. I began to formulate ideas of clever puns or ideas to mash together. I came up with quotes like, “It’s a city, not a yo-yo,” and “In a galaxy far, far away.” I considered mashing up Star Wars with it. Nothing really stuck. Here are some of the sketches I began with:img_2306
fullsizerender

As you can see, they started very differently than what it progressed into. I liked the idea of a puddle jumper with the caption, “In a galaxy far, far away.” I ultimately decided to use the characters, especially McKay because of his inherent humor. Here is my first draft:

draft

I liked this idea, but without the caption, it didn’t make much sense. It looked like a steampunk idea. I received some feedback and started making changes overlapping the object and identifying them as Stargate: Atlantis. Here’s the next draft I ended up with:

final

Still not what I wanted, however, I liked this one more because of the humor. McKay is one of my favorite characters and I find it hilarious that he is always eating. I thought emphasizing the power bar would be a way to add humor and show how different McKay is. When I asked around, Stargate fans still didn’t understand what reference it was making. After playing around some more, it finally morphed into this:

final-03

front-t-shirt-mockup-graphic-twister

I finally made a t-shirt that I felt described the characters in Stargate: Atlantis. I felt that the joke was still there, and McKay’s oddity in the group was shown. Changing this to more of an ordered composition with the labels helped to show the progression of the eye. First, most people start on the left and work their way right until they end at McKay and the punchline. Every project takes a lot of drafts, right?

Leave a Reply

